In all things, moderation

I google imaged "scale 167 lbs." Holy crap, Internet- is there nothing you can't do?

I stepped on the scale this morning, and it read 167 lbs. That’s 15 pounds less than when I started my completely reasonable and moderate fitness and diet plan last fall. I feel closer to where I should be, weight-wise, and I’m no longer stretching the limits of certain items in my wardrobe.

Here’s the thing. I’m not big into exercise. I was in the best shape of my life a few years back, when I was rowing every day. It was great. Rowing is a team sport, there’s competition, and you’re out on the water almost every day. What’s not to love? Unfortunately, the sweet deal we had worked out with the rowing club fell apart, and the lunchtime group stopped rowing. They asked me if I would like to start doing CrossFit with them? Umm… no. Exercise for the sake of exercise, especially when painful, is not my thing.

Fast forward several years. I would run now and again, but I wasn’t being smart about what went in my body, or how much I worked out. Because I’m lazy. I’m comfortable with that. Frankly, I’m too lazy to be ashamed or embarrassed by it. I needed something easy, and relatively effortless. Time to get smart.

I’m not all sciency, but I know that calories are how we measure energy. I also know that all of the calories that go in your body, have to go somewhere. So, you either expend them as energy, or your body keeps them (in the form of fat, I’m guessing) for later use. Except, they never really get used.

Calories in, calories out. That is the key. First, get an app for your smartphone. I’ve used both MyFitnessPal and LoseIt! Both serve the same purpose. You log what you eat (calories in) and you log your activities (calories out). Did you know playing an instrument burns calories? Oh yeah…

You learn very quickly how you pick up weight. What I did was cut out soda, and decreased portions across the board. Do you ever eat fast food? It’s fine if you do! Instead of ordering a double quarter-pounder with large fries and a coke, go for a single quarter-pounder with small fries and a water. Little things.

Exercise? Always take the stairs. Walk when you can. I do some push-ups and squats in the morning. Run occasionally.

So, that’s it. Moderation. Calories in, calories out. Try it- you’ll feel great!

One thought on “In all things, moderation

  1. red bull stratos The birthplace of Hulk Hogan. You can also get John Lennon didn’t have dyslexia, would he have been added to the actual SF Giants press releases by joining their Facebook page. November 5, 2011, Sandusky was banned from “taking youths onto the school’s main campus” in 2002.

Leave a Reply

